Brixton at a glance
The small suburb of Brixton, surveyed in 1902, is bordered by High Street in the south, and Beverley Avenue in the north. Captain Carl von Brandis, the city’s first commissioner, suggested that this portion of the farm Braamfontein be purchased to “extend the town and to provide grazing for the cattle of Johannesburg”, according to Anna Smith in Johannesburg Street Names.
Brixton consists of wide, neat streets containing some 850 houses, many of which are semi-detached, with several front doors facing the diagonal of a corner, an indication that they were small neighbourhood shops at one time. Some homes have been restored, with original stoeps once again resplendent.
There are several distinctive churches in the suburb, one built by Sir Herbert Baker and Frank Fleming, and several houses that are national monuments.
A typical semi-detached house in Brixton
It is probably the only suburb in Joburg that has a home that still retains an original wood and iron outside toilet, alongside the original house made of the same material.
Over it, the soaring Sentech Tower keeps watch. Plans are in the pipeline to open the restaurant at the top of the tower to the public again. Built in 1962, the restaurant was closed in 1982.
Brixton is ideal for students as it is very close to Auckland Park and Bunting Road Campuses of the University of Johannesburg.
Citiq Students bought Umhlanga Junction in 2011 to accomodate students so they are able to walk to campus. In 2014, its sister residence Umhlanga Junction Extension was built - built from containers, a unique concept in South Africa.